string instruments
Woodwinds
Brass
Rhythm section
Further positions

The STEGREIF.orchestra is an international group of 30 young, versatile musicians of various musical origins. What makes the ensemble unique is the way they create new paths for both themselves and the audience to approach classical music. Expanded by  folklore, jazz, klezmer, blues and rock, Stegreif creates innovative, musically and visually powerfull reinterpretations of well-known repertoire. STEGREIF explores new worlds of sound and is constantly trying to bend the boundaries between musical genres. The ensemble always performs without sheet music, without a conductor and without chairs. The resulting freedom creates space for improvisation and movement. The concert hall, the auditorium, the ranks, everything becomes a stage, giving the audience a unique concert experience. The ensemble is under the direction of Juri de Marco and since its debut concert in RADIALSYSTEM V Berlin in October 2015 has performed with a variety of productions on various stages in Germany (including Konzerthaus Berlin, Elbphilharmonie, Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival i.a.). The musicians belong to a generation of artists that combines classical music, improvisation and jazz at the highest artistic level. Their inspiration lies in developing a new performance practice that does not limit itself to reproduction and in seeking new concert formats.


 

 

With the founding project #freebeethoven, the STEGREIF.orchestra showed for the first what classical music can look like today: With musicians of all backgrounds playing and improvising by heart and completely without a conductor, via free arrangements of symphonic music. The Stegreif e.V. was founded in December 2015. At the beginning of the next year, under the artistic direction of Juri de Marco, the formation #freesextett toured Germany. They made a name for themselves nationwide and met important future partners, especially at festivals and projects - including composer Wolf Kerschek, director Theresa von Halle, trumpeter Markus Stockhausen. They all support and inspire the ensemble, with success. At the end of the year, the second major project #freeschubert celebrated its premiere, and the STEGREIF.orchestra subsequently went on tour with it. In January 2017, the musicians* played a benefit concert for Syria, traveled to the Classical Next festival in Rotterdam and developed workshop formats for children, young people and refugees. In addition, the ensemble played at the opening of the exhibition space "FUTURIUM" in September and organized a musical flash mob at the Brandenburg Gate together with a choir, a rapper and a soul singer. In November, the ensemble received its first major award with the Startup Music Prize Berlin. The next idea was born: the development of a techno symphony. In April 2018, #freebrahms finally experienced its premiere at the sold-out Berlin Konzerthaus. After Beethoven and Schubert, the orchestra now varied Johannes Brahms' third symphony. Since the premiere Stegreif has toured Germany with the program and played at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and Hamburg's Elbphilharmonie, among other venues. The next award soon followed as well: the Würth Prize of Jeunesses Musicales Germany. Parallel to #freebrahms, the orchestra developed a three-year cooperation model with the Deutsches Sinfonie-Orchester Berlin and the Junge Norddeutsche Philharmonie: the TRIKESTRA project. These three Berlin-based theaters with different backgrounds joined forces to close the gap between the independent scene and the institutions again. And the orchestra is also tapping into digital spaces: in spring 2019, they released the first episode of their YouTube series plural, funded as part of the "Ooorchestra" project by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

By running this digital education channel, the orchestra not only wants to contribute to a profound change in the performance practice of adolescent (professional) musicians*, but above all to provide young audiences with a new approach to classical music. Three seasons of the innovative video series were produced as part of the multi-year project. In the same year, the orchestra once again dedicated itself to the first independent composer in the history of classical music and his third symphony: Ludwig van Beethoven's "Eroica" focuses entirely on the French Revolution and its values. The STEGREIF.orchester's adaptation, more than 200 years later, celebrated its premiere on July 27, 2019. The production has performed at venues including the Alte Oper in Frankfurt and Bad Urach. However, the international orchestra continues to focus geographically on Berlin. This is also where the orchestra's first opera production, "GIOVANNI.Eine Passion," premiered in October 2020 in cooperation with the Neuköllner Oper. The acclaimed project, directed by Ulrike Schwab and musically conducted by Juri de Marco, opened up new perspectives on Mozart's great, mythical figure and blurred the boundaries between instrumentalists and singers. At the beginning of the Corona pandemic, the orchestra developed its fifth major production #bfree, as part of the #beethoven project as a contribution to the Beethoven Year 2020. Inspired by Ludwig van Beethoven's 9th Symphony, the "European Symphony", the STEGREIF.orchestra combines folk songs from Europe with elements from Beethoven's monumental work and lets Europe grow together in a symphony into a colorful country that tells from the heart of the people. The production was able to premiere at the Düsseldorf Festival in the summer of 2020 despite the pandemic situation. The orchestra used the restrictions imposed by the Corona pandemic to play in digital spaces and, funded by the government's commissioner for culture and media, to develop new concert concepts that focus on audience interaction and 360° experiences beyond the confines of screens. This resulted in the digitally premiered productions #freemahler and #exploremozart, which are now finding their way onto analog stages in Germany. On Aug. 21, 2021, the orchestra opened the Welcome Back Week at the Berlin Philharmonie together with the Jazzrausch Bigband and Nils Landgren and was proud to present the production #bfree in front of a sold-out house.

Foto Header: NAVINAFOTOGRAFIERT

We use cookies on this page. If you click on OK or continue to use this page, you agree to the use of cookies. More

Streichinstrumente
Holzblasinstrumente
Blechinstrumente
Rhythmusinstrumente
weiteres Team

Das STEGREIF.orchester ist ein improvisierendes Sinfonieorchester von 30 jungen internationalen Musiker*innen, die sich selbst und dem Publikum ganz neue Wege zur klassischen Musik eröffnen: das spannende Erbe der klassischen Musik wird unter dem Einfluss von verschiedenen musikalischen Stilen zu einer  eindrückliche Neudeutung von performativer und auch visueller Kraft. STEGREIF erkundet neue Klangwelten und erprobt immer wieder noch nie gehörte Genreverschmelzungen. Dabei tritt das Ensemble stets ohne Noten, ohne Dirigent und ohne Stühle auf. Die dadurch gewonnene Freiheit schafft Raum für Improvisation und Bewegung. Der Konzertsaal, der Zuschauerraum, die Ränge, alles wird zur Bühne und ermöglicht den Zuschauer*innen ein einzigartiges Konzerterlebnis. Unter dem Dach klassischer Kompositionen können sich die verschiedenen musikalischen Herkünfte der Musiker*innen gegenseitig bereichern und es entsteht ein ganz eigener Ansatz miteinander zu musizieren und Musik für das Publikum erfahrbar zu machen.


 

Mit dem Gründungsprojekt #freebeethoven zeigte das STEGREIF.orchester erstmals auf der Bühne, wie Klassik heute aussehen kann: Mit Musiker*innen aller Hintergründe, die auswendig und ganz ohne Dirigent*in spielen und improvisieren, über freie Bearbeitungen sinfonischer Musik. Der Verein Stegreif e.V. entstand im Dezember 2015. Anfang des nächsten Jahres tourte, unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Juri de Marco, die Formation #freesextett durch Deutschland. Sie machten sich bundesweit einen Namen und lernten vor allem bei Festivals und Projekten wichtige zukünftige Partner kennen - darunter den Komponisten Wolf Kerschek, die Regisseurin Theresa von Halle, den Trompeter Markus Stockhausen. Sie alle unterstützen und inspirieren das Ensemble, mit Erfolg. Ende des Jahres feierte das zweite große Projekt #freeschubert Premiere, mit dem das STEGREIF.orchester anschließend auf Tour ging. Im Januar 2017 spielten die Musiker*innen ein Benefizkonzert für Syrien, reisten zum Classical Next-Festival nach Rotterdam und entwickelten Workshop-Formate für Kinder, Jugendliche und Geflüchtete. Zudem spielte das Ensemble im September bei der Eröffnung des Ausstellungsraums "FUTURIUM" und veranstaltete am Brandenburger Tor zusammen mit einem Chor, einem Rapper und einem Soul-Sänger einen musikalischen Flashmob. Im November erhielt das Ensemble mit dem Startup-Music-Preis Berlin seine erste große Auszeichnung. Die nächste Idee entstand: die Entwicklung einer Techno-Sinfonie. Im April 2018 erfuhr schließlich #freebrahms seine Premiere im ausverkauften Berliner Konzerthaus. Nach Beethoven und Schubert variierte das Orchester nun die dritte Sinfonie von Johannes Brahms. Seit der Premiere tourte Stegreif mit dem Programm durch Deutschland und spielte unter anderem beim Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival und in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie. Auch die nächste Auszeichnung folgte bald: der Würth-Preis der Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland. Parallel zu #freebrahms entwickelte das Orchester ein dreijähriges Kooperationsmodell mit dem Deutschen Sinfonie-Orchester Berlin und der Jungen Norddeutschen Philharmonie: Das TRIKESTRA Projekt. Diese drei in Berlin ansässigen Theater mit unterschiedlichen Hintergrnden verbanden sich, um die Kluft zwischen freier Szene und den Institutionen wieder zu schließen. Und auch digitale Räume erschließt sich das Orchester: Im Frühjahr 2019 veröffentlichten sie die erste Folge ihrer YouTube-Serie plural, gefördert im Rahmen des Projektes "Ooorchestra" von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Mit dem Betreiben dieses Digital-Education-Channels will das Orchester nicht nur zu einer tiefgreifenden Veränderung in der Aufführungspraxis heranwachsender (Profi-) Musiker*innen beitragen, sondern vor allem dem jungen Publikum einen neuen Zugang zur klassischen Musik verschaffen. Im Rahmen des mehrjährigen Projekts entstanden drei Staffeln der neuartigen Video-Serie. Im gleichen Jahr widmete sich das Orchester noch einmal dem ersten unabhängigen Komponisten der Klassikgeschichte und seiner dritten Sinfonie: Ludwig van Beethovens "Eroica" fokussiert sich ganz auf die französische Revolution und ihre Werte. Die Adaption des STEGREIF.orchesters, über 200 Jahre später, feierte am 27.07.2019 ihre Uraufführung. Die Produktion war u.a. in der Alten Oper Frankfurt und in Bad Urach zu Gast. Seinen geographischen Schwerpunkt hat das internationale Orchester allerdings weiterhin in Berlin. Dort wurde im Oktober 2020 auch die erste Opernproduktion des Orchesters "GIOVANNI.Eine Passion" in Kooperation mit der Neuköllner Oper uraufgeführt. Das vielbesprochene Projekt unter der Regie von Ulrike Schwab und der musikalischen Leitung von Juri de Marco eröffnete neue Blickwinkel auf Mozarts große, mythische Figur und ließ die Grenzen zwischen Intstrumentalist*innen und Sänger*innen verschwimmen. Zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie entwickelte das Orchester seine fünfte große Produktion #bfree, im Rahmen des Projekts #bebeethoven als Beitrag zum Beethovenjahr 2020. Inspiriert von Ludwig van Beethovens 9. Sinfonie, der „Europa-Sinfonie“, kombiniert das STEGREIF.orchester Volkslieder aus Europa mit Elementen aus Beethovens Monumentalwerk und lässt Europa in einer Sinfonie zusammenwachsen zu einem farbenfrohen Land, das aus dem Herzen der Menschen erzählt. Die Produktion konnte trotz der pandemischen Lage im Sommer 2020 Premiere beim Düsseldorf Festival feiern. Die Einschränkungen durch die Corona-Pandemie nutzte das Orchester, um digitale Räume zu bespielen und, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Regierung für Kultur und Medien, neue Konzertkonzepte zu erarbeiten, die die Interaktion mit dem Publikum und 360°-Erfahrungen über die Grenzen der Bildschirme in den Fokus stellten.
Dabei entstanden die digital premierten Produktionen #freemahler und #exploremozart, die ihre Wege nun auch auf die analogen Bühnen Deutschlands finden. Am 21.08.2021 eröffnete das Orchester die Welcome Back Week der Berliner Philharmonie gemeinsam mit der Jazzrausch Bigband und Nils Landgren und konnte nun auch die Produktion #bfree vor ausverkauftem Haus präsentieren.

Foto Header: NAVINAFOTOGRAFIERT

Wir verwenden auf dieser Seite Cookies. Wenn Sie auf OK klicken oder weiter diese Seite nutzen, sind Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies einverstanden. Mehr Informationen