PRODUCTION #freeroica

For more information:
Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

For Bookingrequests:

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

The STEGREIF.orchestra loves them, the free spirits, revolutionaries and dissenters. All those who had their own ideas about the world and were not afraid to live them. After #freebeethoven, the orchestra once again dedicates itself to the first self-determined freelance composer in the history of classical music and his third symphony.

Ludwig van Beethoven's "Eroica" focuses fully on the French Revolution and its values. Originally composed for Napoleon Bonaparte, Beethoven decided immediately after the latter's self-coronation that the tyrant was not a historical hero and not a suitable dedicatee for the symphony, which itself represents a revolutionary act in music history.

#free∃roica is about revolutions - historical as well as musical - and the heroes that produced them. Without notes, without conductor and without chairs, the orchestra strives towards them, also looking for the small transformations - and may these "only" consist of entering the concert hall without shoes or taking the audience on a journey from 18th century France to the present. In this way, the Eroica is brought to life again with performance, improvisation and recomposition. Broken measures, oversized props and unusual orchestral setups make Beethoven's quest for the new and unexpected tangible in a work that, as part of the centuries-old canon repertoire, no longer breaks with today's listening expectations.

Photos: Oliver Borchert

We use cookies on this page. If you click on OK or continue to use this page, you agree to the use of cookies. More

PRODUKTION #freeroica

Für weitere Informationen:
Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

Für Buchungsanfragen:

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.

Das STEGREIF.orchester liebt sie, die Freigeister, Revolutionäre und Querdenker*innen. All jene, die ihre Vorstellungen von der Welt hatten und sich nicht scheuten, diese auch zu leben. Nach #freebeethoven widmet sich das Orchester noch einmal dem ersten selbstbestimmt freischaffenden Komponisten der Klassikgeschichte und seiner dritten Sinfonie.

Ludwig van Beethovens „Eroica“ fokussiert sich ganz auf die französische Revolution und ihre Werte. Ursprünglich für Napoleon Bonaparte komponiert, entschied Beethoven unmittelbar nach dessen Selbstkrönung, dass der Tyrann kein historischer Held und kein geeigneter Widmungsträger für die Sinfonie sei, die selbst einen revolutionären Akt der Musikgeschichte darstellt.

#free∃roica handelt von Revolutionen – geschichtlich wie musikalisch – und den Helden, die sie hervorgebracht haben. Ohne Noten, ohne Dirigent und ohne Stühle strebt das Orchester ihnen entgegen und sucht dabei auch nach den kleinen Umwälzungen – und mögen diese „nur“ darin bestehen, ohne Schuhe den Konzertsaal zu betreten oder das Publikum auf eine Reise vom Frankreich des 18. Jahrhunderts bis in die Gegenwart mitzunehmen. So wird die Eroica mit Performance, Improvisation und Rekomposition neu gelebt. Zerbrochene Takte, überdimensionale Requisiten und gesprengte Orchesteraufstellungen machen Beethovens Streben nach Neuem und Unerwartetem erfahrbar in einem Werk, das als Teil des jahrhundertealten Kanonrepertoires mit den heutigen Hörerwartungen nicht länger bricht.

Wir verwenden auf dieser Seite Cookies. Wenn Sie auf OK klicken oder weiter diese Seite nutzen, sind Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies einverstanden. Mehr Informationen